11 Member Nickname Committee Named

A committee to find a new nickname for UND is expected to submit a “short list” of potential names by early May.

Its 11 members include Minnesota Twins President Dave St. Peter, former UND goalie Karl Goehring and United Tribes Technical College President Leander “Russ” McDonald.

The committee will narrow a list of potential nicknames submitted through a public process that UND will announce soon, before a final public vote.

Voters overwhelmingly rejected keeping “Fighting Sioux” in 2012 after the NCAA determined the nickname was “hostile and abusive.”