Stiffer Penalties in Place for DWI Offenders in Minnesota
DWI offenders will face stiffer penalties if they get caught in Minnesota.
The legislature lowered the blood-alcohol level to .16% for a gross misdemeanor charge.
The current level is at .2%.
The charge carries a maximum one year in jail instead of 90 days and also triples the current $1,000 fine.
The new laws could increase the amount of gross misdemeanors by more than three thousand.