Tony Gehrig Eager to Continue Helping Fargo in Second Term

Gehrig was the leading vote getter in the City Commission race

FARGO, N.D. — Incumbents Dave Piepkorn and Tony Gehrig were both re–elected to the Fargo City Commission.

Gehrig says he’s excited to serve the community again.

He was the leading vote getter in a field of nine candidates that he said was one of the most competitive in recent memory.

Gehrig says that he is looking forward to continue working with the same group of commissioners.

One area he will work to address in his second term is the removal of special assessments.

“What a lot of people don’t realize is that even in the 30–70 system, some people’s assessments actually went up because they removed some caps that we had in place, so if you have a longer than average boulevard or if your home is more valuable, those caps get increased or get removed,” said Gehrig.

Mayor Tim Mahoney also won another term while running unopposed.

Categories: Local News, North Dakota News, Politics / Elections