Committee Designates New Award To Dennis Walaker

A new award was added to the Mayors Committee For People With Disabilities awards ceremony to honor the late mayor of Fargo.

The first ever Denny Walaker Outstanding Citizen of the Year award went to Jesse and Sherri Shirek. They were recognized for their work in vision services for the blind.

The new award is given to citizens that have contributed work that greatly affects the community, much like Dennis Walaker did throughout his career.