19th Annual Fargo Marathon Results

FARGO, N.D. (KVRR) — Abraham Talam Kipkemei wins the 19th annual Fargo Marathon.

He finished at just over 2 hours and 19 minutes.

Kipkemei, from Kenya, broke a 37-year-old record 2 weeks ago at the Lincoln Marathon in Nebraska by fifteen seconds.

Rumors swirl around the 45-year-old’s retirement from marathons.

St. Louis native Sadie Smith won the women’s division at 2 hours, 57 minutes.

She has done marathons across all fifty U.S. states and her eighteenth title

“Fantastic. Very unexpected. It feels amazing. I’m a 44-year-old woman. So, it’s pretty awesome to come in first here. This is my 94th marathon. So, I run these a lot. It’s the 19th state that I’ve gotten under three hours. Super excited about that. Everybody out there was so nice. Great course, a lot of fun,” she said.

NDSU alum Maddie Van Beek won the women’s half-marathon at 1 hour and 17 minutes while MSUM alum Nadir Yusuf took home gold on the men’s side.

Concordia College alum Munir Isahak won the men’s division of the 10k at 31 minutes and 26 seconds in a photo finish against NDSU alum Tyson Mahar

Fargo native Bridget Henne won the women’s division at just over 39 minutes.

Categories: Community, Minnesota News, Moorhead, North Dakota News