More than 5,000 Cited for Using Cellphones while Driving

Fines are $50 for the first offense and $275 for each subsequent violation, plus court costs.

ST. PAUL, Minn.–State officials say more than 5,000 citations have been issued to drivers in Minnesota since a hands-free law took affect in August. The new law makes it illegal to use a cellphone while driving. Department of Public Safety spokesman Mike Hanson says law enforcement officers don’t have to determine what drivers are doing with their cellphones, just the…

Minnesota’s Hands-Free Law Goes Into Effect Thursday

The Fine for Breaking the Law Will be a Minimum of $50

ST. PAUL, Minn. — Minnesota’s law to curb distracted driving goes into effect in just a few short hours. The entire state goes hands–free on Thursday, meaning drivers will no longer be able to hold their cell phones or GPS devices in hand at any point. You can still use your phone while driving, but only by voice commands. Minnesota…

Minnesota Unveils New Look To Driver’s Licenses And IDs

Minnesotans will be able to apply for a REAL ID-compliant card in October 2018

ST. PAUL, Minn. — Driver’s license and ID cards in Minnesota are getting a new look and security upgrades. They include vertical and horizontal designs and state of Minnesota branding featuring the Mississippi River, a canoeist and a pine forest. The vertical design is for those under 21 to make it easier for businesses to identify those of legal age….

MNLARS In Danger Of Running Out of Money For Fixes

The Legislature provided $9.6 million in emergency funding earlier this year

ST. PAUL, Minn. — Two state agencies may soon run out of money to fix Minnesota’s new driver registration platform. Minnesota’s Information Technology Services and the Department of Public Safety are tasked with fixing MNLARS. The computer system has struggled with bugs and errors since its launch last summer. The agencies told lawmakers in a report this week that the…